Pretty Polished!!

Wow!! I’ve been playing with the Polished Stone technique. It was so much fun and a lot easier than I thought it would be. These are the results. What a shame the Friendship Blooms set has finished along with Sale-A-Bration. However it is just as effective with other sets.

Polishedstone1

For the polished stone effect you need glossy card stock, two or three re-inkers (or stamp pads if you are desperate), some rubbing alcohol (Isocol), and some make up remover pads. Soak a make up remover pad in rubbing alcohol (best to do this in a well ventilated room) then put on a couple of drops of your lightest colour ink. Dab this all over the glossy card. Soak another pad in alcohol (don’t be shy, it needs to be fairly wet), then a couple of drops of the next darkest colour ink and dab again. It looks a bit dotty at this stage, but it will bleed and blend as it dries. Do the same with the last colour. Let it dry.

I made both of these cards out of the same piece of polished stone card using pale plum, perfect plum and almost artichoke SU colours.

Polished Stone2

Now I didn’t have a re-inker for almost artichoke so I had to improvise. You squeeze the pad when it is still closed so that some of the ink goes into the lid. Then pick up the ink with the soaked make up remover pad. 

I had so much fun doing this, I’m going to have to play some more. Don’t forget to contact me if you want a party or a workshop using this technique.

Happy Stamping!!

2 Responses to “Pretty Polished!!”

  1. Sue Says:

    I just love this background effect!! Isnt it amazing what you can do with these ink pads!! Please post more of your creations, they’re such an inspiration. The more i see….the longer my wish list grows!!!

  2. Mel Says:

    Who’s a lucky girl then??? I received on of these cards from Ally and I have to say that the photo doesn’t do it justice. It’s so gorgeous, every one who has been to my house since has picked it up and commented on it. Once again Alison you have created a winner, you are so very talented and I’m a huge fan of your work.

    Now lets see that scrapbook page!!!

Leave a Reply

