Pick-a-Petal Birthday

 

Don’t you love it when your kids ask you to make a birthday card at the last minute? The morning of the party!!!

This was one of those times.

So I asked the usual question, what does your friend like. The answer that came back was not much help. “She likes Black!”

Well anyone who knows me, knows that black is not one of the colours I am comfortable with. So I asked if there was any other colour she liked?? The answer “I don’t know”. Well that was a lot of help. It’s really hard to know with teenagers. My youngest has decided after all these years of being a pink fanatic that she doesn’t like pink any more. (Well she will just have to live with the pink bedroom for a while yet!!).

So this is the card I came up with.

Blog Pics Pickapetalbirthday

My heart felt a lot easier when I pulled up to their house an hour later and there were black balloons on the fence and YES pink balloons as well. Phew!!

I embossed the black petals with black embossing powder and coloured in the petals with a pixie pink stampin write marker. I also embossed the happy birthday to you single stamp from the new mini in black. Stuck on a bit of black gros-grain ribbon and a button (not Stampin’ Up!I really wanted a shiny button to go with the embossing). And Voila a quick and pretty birthday card.

Technorati Tags: ,,
Leave a Reply

