21st Heart – Re-creating Background Papers

Isn’t this card adorable, I just love it.

I made this card a while ago for a friend who needed a 21st birthday card. I was in a bit of a rush because I was going away the next day so must confess that this card is a case. I had seen a card on Beate Johns website ‘Fresh and Fun’ and thought it would suit perfectly.

heartbackground

Of course I didn’t have the designer paper that Beate had used for the heart so I had to make my own. I often see designer paper and try to recreate it.

First I stamped the flowers in Versamark randomly over the piece of card and embossed with white embossing powder. You could use clear embossing powder but my Versamark pad is a little discoloured from over use so the white gave me a pure white image.

blog200310heartcard2

I then coloured on the centres of each flower using a tempting turquoise marker and once that was dry, I placed a little drop of crystal effects over each blue dot. 

Of course I didn’t sit idle while this was drying. I completed the rest of the card. The tempting turquoise piece is a piece of watercolour paper that has been watercolour washed with watered down tempting turquoise ink. I dried it with the heat gun. The water colour paper gave the card some texture and I wanted a wash effect rather than a solid deep turquoise.

I coloured the pretties kit flowers with our reinkers. But this is another tutorial 🙂

Now back to the background because the crystal effects was dry, I then brayered gable green onto the card stock and helped it to dry with the heat gun.

blog200310heartcard3

After that I stamped on some dots in glorious green. I am not sure what happened to my polka dot stamp, but I just couldn’t find it this morning. However I am still pleased with the way this turned out.

blog200310heartcard4

You can see here that I experimented with using a couple of different flower stamps for this background. Both turned out really well. You just need a small flower with a space in the centre so you can add a different colour. 

I’ve gently run the chocolate chip stamp pad around the edge of the flowers and also edged the heart with chocolate chip. I don’t know what it is about faux stitching, but I seem to be doing this to all my cards lately.

After that it was a simple case of assembling all the pieces.IMG_5568

Oops I forgot to put the 21 on this card before I took the photo. It was hand drawn and cut out of chocolate chip card and stuck in the bottom right hand corner.

This card could really be made for any occasion. I had a great time making it. I just love trying to copy and make my own background papers. It gives me a sense of satisfaction (and it is cheaper too LOL). I hope you have a go and try recreating your own background papers too. Let me know if you do.

Happy Stamping!

Alison

Leave a Reply

